top of page

Autumnal Colours

Autumn is a favorite time of year for many landscape Photographers. Its rich colour palette makes images far more interesting and beautiful than the regular greens of the summer and spring months.


The image was taken on the 12th of October 2020, I had been wanting to take a very fall shot for the last week but none of the images I had taken to that point screamed AUTUMN at me. Until I saw an Instagram post but local of my area who had paid a visit to Healey Dell Nature Reserve, now their post was a snapshot but I saw it’s potential. So I prepared my camera ready for the following morning.


It was a slightly damp morning, But it wasn’t too cold only 7 degrees C. As I found my way to the waterfall in the dell I noticed most trees had only just begun to turn. This worried me a bit, would the trees be turned enough at the waterfall to even notice? would the different light change the entire dynamic of the colours?


No, they didn’t and they had turned more than enough to make a beautiful image possible. Most of the already turning leaves were to the left and above the waterfall and river. meaning they were perfectly positioned to be visible and prominent in the image, With still green leaves further back behind to add some contrast. also, an opening in the tree canopy allowed light to spill in even tho it was overcast and cloudy illuminating the leaves even more.


https://etsy.me/3di1eC7
Healey Dell Nature Reserve in Autumn

Beautiful.



4 views0 comments
bottom of page